Meatless Monday

20140630-075132.jpg

I’m no vegetarian, but I’ve never been a major meat eater. I prefer meatless pizzas (unless it’s pepperoni or bacon…), don’t eat sausage and am turned off by what seems like a celebration of meat, like the turducken, or anything ‘meat lovers.’
However, I love a good cheeseburger, I couldn’t live without my chicken salad, and bacon, honestly, makes me giddy. So being a vegetarian is out of the question for me…(for now).
One of my closest friends is living a vegan lifestyle now, and it’s made me focus more closely on my eating habits.  Awhile back, I worked with an adventurous hula hooper, who suggested, to ease into vegetarianism, that certain days get categorized as ‘meatless’ days.  I love vegetables, and they are cheaper than meat, so I was essentially already doing this. And why not make it a regular thing? Vegetable-based eating is proven to be healthier than a meat-based diet, with less fat and more fiber.
So here’s to Meatless Mondays! And maybe even Wednesday and Saturday too. :). One of the easiest ways to avoid meat? Make a pizza!
20140630-093951.jpg
Pita Pizza

Pitas or flatbread (or Naan!)
~1/2 c. Cheese (mozzarella)
Vegetables of your choice
Tomato
Olive oil
Dried oregano and/or garlic
Salt & Pepper

Lay your pitas (or substitute) on a baking sheet. Brush lightly with olive oil. Then add vegetables! I used onion, mushroom and spinach this time. Add diced or thin slices of tomato.
20140630-094403.jpg
Once you’ve loaded it with vegetables, add a small amount of shredded cheese over the pita. Sometimes I don’t feel like taking out the grater, so I cut slices of cheese into smaller, matchstick pieces. It works just as well. 🙂
Sprinkle cheese with salt and pepper, oregano and/or garlic.  Bake at 425* for 10 minutes, until the cheese is melted and just starting to brown.
Experiment with other ways you can go meatless! Stuffed zucchini, mushroom risotto, vegetable pasta…yum yum.

Love,
Feisty

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

