Oh, Sugar

20131106-143036.jpg
Fall is here! Maybe it’s Winter where you are, but Richmond has been delightfully mild so far. However, we’ve still had cold days & nights, and It’s prompted me to start writing a list of my favorite things about cold weather. Being a staunch summer girl, it helps ease the transition to remind myself of hot chocolate, soft, comfy socks and all things pumpkin. One thing cold weather brings that will not go on that list? Dry skin.
My preferred face wash is Clean & Clear deep action cream cleanser. It removes makeup and makes my skin feel so fresh and clean afterwards, but it doesn’t exfoliate. And with a tiny pimple next to my nose and noticeably dry skin flaking off my forehead, I needed to do something. Being a girl who loves being in the kitchen, I figured I could make a sugar scrub from ingredients in the house….and I was right!
It’s so easy. Just two parts sugar to one part oil. I used olive oil, but you could also use canola or grape seed oil. I wouldn’t recommend vegetable oil.
20131106-140303.jpg
The recipe I found called for
1/2 cup of white sugar
1/2 cup of brown sugar
1/2 cup oil

I halved the recipe, using a quarter cup of each, but in the process discovered my brown sugar was now a box-shaped rock. So I ended up doing:
1/2 cup white sugar
1/4 cup oil
Splash of vanilla (for scent)

I mixed it together with a fork and added more sugar until it was the consistency I wanted. I didn’t want it to be too oily.
Then I rubbed it onto my skin. Want proof? Here’s me acting a fool. My eyelashes look good though. 😉
20131106-140745.jpg
After you’re done letting out your inner Noxzema girl, wash it off with warm water. I rubbed a tiny bit of my face wash on afterwards to get rid of any oily residue. Then slap on some moisturizer and marvel at your smooth, smooth skin. Get it, girl!

Love,
Feisty

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

