Drink Your Beer & Eat it Too

20130831-093056.jpg
In the classic battle of onion rings vs. french fries, onion rings have always won my heart. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good fry, but that little sliver of onion always elevated my fried food experience. When I was younger, I knew I liked a certain type of fried on my rings (darker batter, no breadcrumbs), and it wasn’t until recently that I realized this was a beer batter. I sought out beer battered o.r. on fast food & diner menus everywhere, but they were few and far between.
Well then, it can’t be that difficult! I’ll just have to make them myself. And lo & behold, it’s not hard at all; in fact it’s really easy! Drink a few beers and batter a few onions–sounds like a good day to me.

BEER BATTERED ONION RINGS
1 Vidalia onion (they are sweet & big)
1 c. of flour (+ more for dredging)
1 c. of beer
Enough fry oil to fill a pan halfway
Seasonings

One onion makes a lot of rings. If you are like me and only have 2 mouths to feed, halve the recipe. Quarter it, even. The measurements make it really easy to adjust.
Grab your onion and cut off the end opposite the roots, then pull the end you cut off to remove the outer layer of the onion. Chop your onion into 1/2″ rings. Separate them and remove the parts too small or too big.
20130831-095229.jpg
Now whisk together your flour and seasonings. I added a lot of seasoning because beer batter by itself is a little bland. Once whisked together, add your favorite beer (I used Yuengling) and voila! Batter time.
20130831-095725.jpg
20130831-095735.jpg
Now get your onions ready for dredging. Set up a spot with flour on a plate or in a bag and then drag your rings through to get a nice coating of flour.
20130831-100127.jpg
While you’re doing this, start heating up your oil. They say when the oil gets ‘shimmery’ you’ll know it’s ready, but I find that hard to tell. When you suspect your oil is ready, flick a droplet of water into the pan. If it sizzles, it’s frying time! If it crazily sizzles, like it sizzles longer and harder than expected, turn down your heat. Hang out around medium.
Take your floured onion rings and cover them with the batter, one at a time. As soon as they are battered, toss them into the oil. Depending on the size of your rings and pan, you can do several at a time.
20130831-100737.jpg
Lay out a baking sheet covered in paper towel for their final resting place. I watched the rings in 3 minute increments, turning them every 1.5 minutes. However, I didn’t pull them until they were the color I wanted. You could salt them after they come out of the oil but its completely unnecessary. I don’t know about you but I’ve been trying to rely less on salt anyway.
20130831-101217.jpg
And there you have it. Pair it with your favorite dipping sauce (ranch for me!), and serve it as an appetizer, side dish, or football snack. Easy and delicious, that’s Feisty’s style!

Love,
Feisty

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

