When You Give a Cat a Cake Pan…

She’s going to get a craving for cake!!Image

So, last week, I’m sitting around doing my favorite winter activity (nothing) & a craving for cake hits.  I kept picturing a forkful of frosting layered on top of regular ole birthday cake, and it was driving me crazy.  I weighed my options, thinking I’ll go to the store or a local restaurant and pick up a slice of cake.  The problem with this scenario is

a. I have no money

b. It is damn cold out there!

I, baker extraordinaire, brilliantly realize I can make the cake myself.  I have a cake pan I haven’t used yet! I have flour, sugar, milk & vanilla!  However, I didn’t have eggs.  I didn’t have cocoa powder (for chocolate frosting).  Its okay though, because the internet is always on my side.  I searched and searched and hemmed & hawed, until I found a well-reviewed recipe for egg-less yellow cake.  A tablespoon of vinegar instead — genius!  Second task: finding a chocolate frosting recipe I could make with chocolate chips.  Easy enough.  Let’s get to work!

Magic Cake
or How I Learned to Make Egg-less Yellow Cake & Chocolate Chip Frosting

Cake:
1.5 c. flour
1 c. sugar
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 c. milk
2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 c. oil
1 T. white vinegar (or lemon juice…)*

Frosting:
1/4 c. butter
1/4 c. milk
1 c. powdered sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 c. chocolate chips

The cake is simple as this: mix together your dry ingredients in a bowl.  Add in wet ingredients & mix when all together.  Pour in greased round cake pan, or 8×8 square pan.  Bake 350 degrees for 30 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.
*Raring to go, I was screeched to a halt when I realized I had red wine vinegar instead of white!  The internet to the rescue again — the lemon juice worked wonderfully.

And now for the frosting!  Bring butter, milk & sugar to a boil in a saucepan, then add in chocolate chips & vanilla.  Beat until cool (this will take a while!).  The beating stage is important because it thickens the frosting.  As it is, its not very solid, which made for a very smooth presentation.  I had enough frosting to cover the top and the sides with leftovers.  You would most likely need a double batch if doing a double layer or sheet cake.  Also, I don’t know if it was necessary, but I put the cake in the fridge overnight to firm up the frosting.

 

One thought on “When You Give a Cat a Cake Pan…

  1. Pingback: Mom’s Birthday Cake | Feisty Cooks!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

