My Favorite Food: Oh Fuck Yes

It all started a mere month and a half ago; a time that now seems long, long ago because of a major difference in mindset that has occurred since.  I haven’t really breached it publicly, but I might as well.  Those who know me or have followed a number of my blog posts or Yelp reviews know that I traveled everywhere with my other half, Ryan C.  We Yelped together, partied together, and of course, ate together.  And its easier if I just say, Ryan is dead.  It was tough, but I made it through.  I can still cook so everything’s cool.

Anyway, exactly six weeks ago, I took home a huge container of leftover, Thanksgiving mashed potatoes.  It ended up being too much for even this potato princess, so I turned to the Internets for an idea on what to do with leftover mashed potatoes.  Enter: MASHED POTATO CAKES!  Mashed potatoes with a crispy crust.  Oh Fuck Yes.

Now, I’ve got you a recipe, and its what I used post Thanksgiving.  They came out delicious, and instantly became my favorite food.  Not only is it yummy, its rare; even when I make extra mashed potatoes so I’ll have leftovers, I still end up eating them.  But the other day it happened; I tore myself away from an overabundance of cheesy mashed potatoes and saved some. The next morning I was super excited to make my beloved cakes, but was momentarily deflated when I realized I didn’t have the recipe’s required 1 egg.  No bother — just like sealing your raviolis together, the egg don’t mean shit.

MASHED POTATO CAKES!!

Mashed Potato Cake 

3 c. mashed potatoes
1/2 c. grated cheese (about 2 oz.)
2 medium scallions, thinly sliced
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1/3 c. flour
oil
salt

Now, the first time I made this recipe, I followed it to the letter.
Place all ingredients except oil & salt in bowl and stir to combine.  Line baking sheets with paper towels.

Heat oil in frying pan until shimmery.  Drop 1/3 c. of mixture into pan and press down/spread into 3-inch patty.  Cook until bottoms are golden, about 4-5 minutes.  Flip and cook until other side golden brown (another 4-5 min.).  Transfer to paper toweled baking sheet and season with salt.

Yum, delish! If you have the ingredients go at it.  But here’s the magical thing — no egg needed!
Now, the mashed potatoes I made this most recent time had a nice handful of grated cheese, which was this really smelly cheese I bought unknowingly at my favorite funky grocer, Little House Green Grocery.  It was called Jumpin’ Jack Chive, so it already had an herb and damnit I wanted my cakes already.

I don’t even know if it was necessary, but I threw in a spoonful or two of flour and mixed it in the mashed potatoes.  So basically, compared to the original recipe, I didn’t add the egg & the garlic cloves and I replaced scallions with chives. 

What is really the trick to these is using mashed potatoes on the dry side.  You want them to be a bit stiff and stick together, and the cheese helps to achieve that.  As long as you have that, you don’t need no stinkin egg!
Pan fry as directed above.  I just grabbed a spoon and plopped down 3 heaping scoopfuls, flattening them down into patties.  The mashed potatoes were a bit stickier this time maybe, but just as delicious!  Be sure you get a nice dark crust, it adds a crunch that is an awesome complement to the soft, creamy mashed potatoes inside.
Just another lovely potato dish from the potato princess!
Love,
Feisty

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

