Pink Lemonade Bars


I made these a week ago to surprise my mama before meeting up with her in Williamsburg for a little Labor Day weekend getaway.  There were two reasons I thought of her when I came across this recipe.  One, I don’t have many childhood memories, but I do remember my mom making lemon bars when I was a kid, using lemons from the tree in our backyard.  I remember thinking how delicious they were, and always wanted her to make them again.  Two, what makes these lemon bars “pink lemonade” is a raspberry puree that is squeezed into the mix, making the perfect pastel shade of pink.  My mom loves raspberry.

I’m not going to even try and appropriate the recipe this time.  I’m going to lead you right to the entertaining Smitten Kitchen, a favorite recipe blog of mine.  The posts are long-winded but oh so cute, and she truly has patience and time I can’t even fathom (plus a kid and a cookbook coming out!).  This recipe is so goddamn delicious; the crust, especially, I can’t get enough of.  I’m already thinking of stealing it for other delicious desserts!

PINK LEMONADE BARS

2 thoughts on “Pink Lemonade Bars

  1. Pingback: Oh My My, Strawberry Pie! | Feisty Cooks!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

