oh baby I wanna get with ya

This is a stuffed mushroom.  With cream cheese. Onion. Garlic. Jalapeno. Homemade bread crumbs.  It’s all easy, it’s all scrumptious, and it’s all at your fingertips!

YUM STUFFED MUSHROOMS

ingredients
8-10 oz. mushrooms
4 oz. goat cheese
1/4 c. bread crumbs
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 T. olive oil
1 T. herbs (chives, basil, oregano, rosemary…)
salt & pepper

Remove stems from mushrooms and chop.  Mix stems with other ingredients except mushrooms and fill each mushroom when well combined.  Arrange on baking sheet and bake until tops are golden, 15 to 20 minutes.

Now, I only had 4 mushrooms.  And I had cream cheese, not goat cheese.  Thankfully they are the same consistency so easy swap there.  I also did not have bread crumbs, but I did have the end piece of a store bought loaf of bread.* 

THIS RECIPE IS VERY FORGIVING.  Get the amount of cheese right, don’t overdo the extra ingredients and you can pile those mushrooms high if there’s too much.  (Note: Too much would definitely be better than too little)

This is what I did:

4 baby portabellas
About a 1/4 c. of cream cheese
About 1 T. of olive oil
2 cloves of garlic, minced (teehee, I love garlic!)
Chopped onion
1 thick slice of jalapeno, chopped
handful of chopped chives
salt & pepper
red pepper flakes
and the bread crumbs…

*Toasted up the end piece until it was nice and crispy, NOT BURNT.  Burnt bread is bitter, and that’s bad! 🙂  Placed it on top of a paper towel and just attacked it, crunching it up until I could get a few big pinches of bread crumbs.  After I filled the mushrooms, I also did another nice sprinkle of bread crumbs and pepper.

I ended up cooking these longer, more like 25 minutes, because the tops weren’t looking brown to me.  I pulled them out when I could start to smell the mushroom cook (a good sign!).  I love that roasted mushroom taste.  With the ingredients I combined, these came out garlic-y with a little bit of spice, absolutely crave-worthy!  Obviously a fun recipe you can experiment with.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

