My Love Affair with (Whipped) Cream


Amazing.  That’s how you feel when you whip cream.  You just made a liquid into a solid in the time it takes to wash your hands.  It’s easy easy easy and even though I was nervous I would over-whip or somehow wouldn’t get it right, I’m here to tell you not to worry.  I’ve done it several times now, with three different tools, and below I’ll tell you what works and what doesn’t.

First, the simplest of recipes.

WHIPPED CREAM
I half it because I only have 2 mouths to feed.

1 c. cream
1 T. powdered sugar (optional)
1 tsp. vanilla extract (optional)

Whisk ingredients together in cold bowl until stiff peaks form (when whisk is pulled up from the cream, a peak is formed and stays).  For best results, put whisk (or whatever tool you use — see below)  in fridge/freezer for 10 minutes before whipping cream.  Cold tools make it go faster.
Now, the first time I attempted this, I tried with a regular ole whisk.  Bad idea!  It will take forever to do it this way and my arm just got way too tired.  I only started out this way because online comments led me to believe that I might end up making butter accidentally.

I quickly switched over to the whisk attachment of my handheld mixer.  This works much better and after a few minutes, you will have frothy, creamy whipped cream.  So yummy in its simplicity.

The next time I made whipped cream, I decided to try making it with my immersion blender.  It whipped up even faster, proving to be my favorite way to do it.

Whichever way you decide to try it, make sure to check on your cream as its consistency changes.  There is the slight threat of whipping too much and making a product not unlike butter.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

