Vegan Brownies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the very reason the Internet is magical; I didn’t have any eggs but wanted brownies, so I  searched for “Egg free Brownie Recipe” and BOOM!  Several choices at my fingertips!  I didn’t realize how easy it was to make brownies without eggs or milk, but there it was.  Easy as pie.

Vegan Brownies

2 c. flour
2 c. white sugar (or, you can replace one cup with honey!)
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 c. water
1 c. vegetable oil
1 tsp. vanilla extract

In a large bowl, sift together all dry ingredients: flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder & salt.  If you want to do what I did and replace one cup of sugar with honey, throw in 1 c. of sugar instead of 2.
Pour in water, vegetable oil & vanilla.  Add honey now, if desired. (I know, its a lot of honey, but I just got a Costco container of it so I went for it!)  Mix until well blended.
At this point I threw in about 1/4 of a bag of shelled walnuts I got in the baking section of my grocery store.  Throw some in and stir the mixture.  If you see enough walnuts throughout the batter then that’ll be enough, but of course, its up to you and your love of walnuts.

NOTE: Now, I read somewhere that if you are going to replace your sugar with honey, you need to balance this out with the other liquids in the recipe.  I am not really sure what to remove (the water, I guess) and how much of it to remove, so I didn’t bother.  My brownies came out appropriately moist and undercooked, which is how I like them!

Pour into greased 9×13 baking pan.  Back at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes.  I did around 32 minutes because of the honey.  The top of the brownies should no longer be shiny.  Let cool for at least 10 minutes.

Yes, its that easy to have delicious brownies, perfect for a la mode or by themselves!  You’ll never miss the milk or eggs 🙂

love,
Feisty

One thought on “Vegan Brownies

  1. Here’s a few tips for cooking with honey in place of sugar:
    1 – replace 1 cup of sugar with 3/4 cup of honey.
    2 – reduce the amount of water used by 1/4 cup.
    3 – if replacing sugar in cookie or cake recipe, reduce oven temp by 25 degrees.
    4 – add a 1/4 tsp of baking soda to neutralize the extra acidity honey adds.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

