PIE PIE PIE PIE PIE PIE

I have been on a total pie kick lately, ever since I realized how easy it is to make pie crust & that I could use the dish my Qdoba meal came in as a pie pan.  The first pie I made was DELICIOUS, but let me warn you right now — I don’t use proper measurements, so all of my recipes are for a 9-in. pan when I work with an 8-in. one.  I’m crazy, right?!? But it all worked out in the end, and I have to share with the masses THIS. AWESOME. PIE.

CINNAMON CREAM PIE

First, the pie crust.

1.5 c. flour
1 T. sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 c. vegetable oil
2 T. milk
(for a savory pie crust, like for a quiche, use more salt & less sugar)

Place all the ingredients in a pie pan and stir it together with a fork.  NOTE: don’t overdo the flour!!
Now, initially, your crust will look like this:

Just keep mixing it around with the fork & get it nice & uniform, until it looks like this:

Now’s the time to put down that fork & start smooshing the crust with a spoon.  The idea is to get it as an even layer around the pan, and make sure to create your outer crust too!  When all is said & done, you will have, well, a pie crust.  Around the outer crust, I pushed my index finger all the way around to create ridges.

For this recipe, we need an unbaked crust, but if you need it baked, 400 degrees for 15 min. or until golden brown.

Now, for the pie filling.
1 c. white sugar
1.5 T. flour
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 pinch of salt
1 beaten egg
2 T. melted butter
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1.5 c. milk

In a large bowl, combine sugar, flour, cinnamon & salt.  Add egg, butter & vanilla.  Mix well, and add the milk.  Pour the mixture into the unbaked pie crust.

Now, here’s where we hit a snafu.  Like I said before, I am a crazy person who uses 9 in. recipes for my 8 in. pan.  If you have a 9 in. pan, you are smart, my friend.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees & bake for 15 minutes, then reduce to 350 degrees & bake for 45 minutes.  It will be jiggly as hell, but let it cool for an hour and it should be good to go.

If however, you are daring (and stupid) like me, you will do it with an 8 in. pan.  I fit all of it (barely), but when I baked it at the temperature & times listed above, it was not done.  After I baked it the initial hour, I cooled it for an hour and then realized it was still pretty liquidy.  I baked it for an additional 40 – 50 minutes and was able to say it was done.

The only way to really know with this type of pie is to cut into it, after letting it cool of course.  It should have a custard consistency.  If everything comes out right, your pie should look something like this:

It was absolutely scrumptious & I can’t wait to make it again.  Happy pies!!!!!

Love,
Feisty

3 thoughts on “PIE PIE PIE PIE PIE PIE

  1. Pingback: The Mr. Manager of Frozen Banana Food | Feisty Cooks!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

