tortillas!!!!!!!!!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I previously posted an easy recipe for tortillas, & it gets the job done.  But I’m here to tell you that I found a better one! It adds only 2 additional ingredients, & if some of your favorite moments are in the kitchen, you will have them.

INGREDIENTS:
3 c. flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
5 T. shortening/butter (can do any combination)
1.25 c. warm water
1 T. olive oil

Mix dry ingredients together.  Add shortening/butter (fat) & cut into dry ingredients with fork.  Add water with olive oil a little at a time.  Now, when I did this, I did not need all of the wet mix.  My dough was fine, and then once I added the last of the wet mix my dough became a soupy mess.  I had to keep adding flour to balance it out.  Make sure your dough is sticky but solid.

Knead dough for a few minutes (your hands will get messy!) and then roll into 12 evenly sized balls (flour your hands to make this easier).  Let dough rest for 10 minutes and then its time for tortilla cooking. O YA!
I roll out any dough I make with a wine bottle.  It magically works the exact same…;)  Get your pan to a nice MED-HIGH heat and once its hot, throw your first rolled out tortilla into the pan.  The trick here is to not let it cook too long.  I counted to 30 seconds for each side, which worked well for the first one.  After that, my pan got too hot so the tortillas did not come out as good.  Still delicious!  But my goal for these was to have soft, pliable tortillas.

Once you are ready with your first tortilla, wrap it in a towel to keep it soft.  I made 3 of the 12 and wrapped the rest for the freezer.  I have been freezing dough more often since it saves much better than making the whole thing & refrigerating it.

When it comes to these & most other recipes, you know its done when “it looks like food.”  If you are making tortillas, you have most likely had tortillas many times in your life & know exactly what they are supposed to look like.

Knowing how to make a basic recipe like this makes me feel so powerful, like I could eat even if all I had in the house was flour, salt & butter.  Being an educated chef is our weapon against being poor!! 🙂

love,
feisty

 

4 thoughts on “tortillas!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. Pingback: Easy Recipe of the Week: Tortilla Chips | Feisty Cooks!

  2. Pingback: Spotlight On: The Pastry Blender | Feisty Cooks!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

