The Mr. Manager of Frozen Banana Food

I’ll never give up my love for TV, never!!

A couple of months ago, one of my loveliest and most adorable friends, Jessica, had a baby.  My sister, a new mother herself, informed me that when friends–such as us–visit friends with new babies, you bring food.  This is just what you do.

Jessica’s husband is vegan, and I wanted to make something that both parents could enjoy.  I considered a vegan pot pie, because who in the hell does not love pot pie?, but was easily deterred by Trader Joe’s not having a vegan crust.  I went down sort of a downward spiral, as I often do, cursed by the overwhelming options of what I could make.  I spied on Jessica’s Pinterest to see recipes she liked — is that creepy?  I strongly considered (strongly meaning I wrote the recipe out on paper) making “cookie dough” bites that were made from chickpeas.  Possibly gross? (I don’t like hummus.)

Instead, I made these.  Use vegan chocolate or not, they’re delicious.  Anticipating her almost annual Christmas dinner party, I was requested to bring more.  They were GOBBLED up, along with this, this, and baked french fries.

Chocolate Covered Frozen Banana Peanut Butter Bites
or CCFBPBB

2 lg. bananas
1/4 c. peanut butter
10 oz. melted chocolate

Banana Bite 1

 

First, slice your bananas into 1/2 in. thick rounds.  Keep mindful to have an even number of slices…unless you’re not opposed to popping the odd one in your mouth.  Lay half of them out on a cookie sheet covered with parchment (or wax) paper.

Banana Bite 2

 

Now, what I do is I take a big spoonful of peanut butter and stick it in a plastic Ziploc bag.  No measuring needed.  Cut out a small corner of the bag and dollop about a teaspoon of peanut butter on each banana slice on the cookie sheet.

Banana Bite 3

 

Place the other half of your slices on top to create a peanut butter sandwich with banana slices for bread.  Try to line up like-sized pieces, as you will see they are all different sizes.  Scrape off any peanut butter that squeezes out the sides.  Slide your cookie sheet (I used toaster oven trays, so sheets) into the freezer onto a flat surface.  Freeze for one hour.

Banana Bite 4

 

When that hour’s almost up, melt 2/3 of your chocolate.  If microwaving, microwave the chocolate at 15-20 second intervals, stirring in between.  When melted, throw in the last 1/3 of your chocolate, stirring to temper it.  When fully melted, add Crisco if you have it — it helps in the dipping process.  Its not a lot of chocolate, so this time I opted to use a monkey mug.  I probably should’ve stayed with the bowl though, as the mug got hot too quickly.
I just got metal mixing bowls for an early Christmas present, so I am a little bummed I didn’t think to break them out & double boil this time around.  Now I’ll have to melt chocolate again just to try it…maybe I’ll make a chocolate mousse!

Dip your banana bites into the tempered chocolate with a fork, using an additional fork or spoon to remove the excess chocolate.  Do only a few at a time, leaving the rest in the freezer.  Who knows, maybe its easier when they aren’t fresh out of the freezer.  Place the dipped bites onto parchment (or wax) paper and put back in the freezer.  Keep in freezer until ready to eat!

Banana Bite Display

 

Yum yum frozen banana bites!  At the party, they got left out so they weren’t so frozen.  The banana melted and when you bit into it, you had to quickly stuff the whole thing in your mouth so it wouldn’t fall.  Chocolate, peanut butter, & a banana, melting together in your mouth…aren’t those the best kind of desserts?
Learn how to make the festive (breakable) holiday platter!

Love,
Feisty

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

